Welcome to the Colorado Music Educators Association!

Our mission is to serve the educational needs of our members and to provide growth opportunities to music educators regardless of their experience in the profession. Each year our annual music clinic/conference is packed with sessions that will benefit the new teacher as well as those finishing their college experience as they prepare for that first job. Our clinicians and presenters at the conference are nationally and many times internationally known which provides top-level strategies, techniques, and inspiration for those veteran teachers and educators looking for that next step. It is always a pleasure to see the many retired teachers in attendance at the Broadmoor each January remaining active and renewing meaningful friendships.

What we offer in the way of performances at the conference provides inspiration for that first rehearsal after the clinic/conference as well as an appreciation for the effort these young musicians have committed themselves to in order to provide a concert that demonstrates the highest level of achievement. The evening performances and the closing concert traditionally provide professional entertainers and ensembles that leave you wanting more. Great effort and thought goes into providing these performances each year and your schedule should include each of these concerts.

Another service the annual conference provides our membership is the opportunity to see, hear, and feel what is new and available to them as teachers. The exhibit areas are filled with resources, teaching aids, travel opportunities, new materials and the best of the old. Our exhibitors represent national brands, local dealers, and all the way down to that “one man shop” who has the sole purpose of serving you and kids. Take time to get to know these people.

CMEA Districts

The Colorado Music Educators Association is composed of eight regions in the state. This map shows the geographic layout of those districts and the table below lists the specific school districts contained in each CMEA district.

CMEA Districts with School District Listing

CMEA District 1

(SOUTH DENVER METRO) Denver, Arapahoe, and Douglas Counties

Adams-Arapahoe 28J – Aurora
Arapahoe 1 – Englewood
Arapahoe 5 – Cherry Creek
Arapahoe 6 – Littleton
Denver County 1 – Denver
Douglas County RE-1 – Castle Rock

CMEA District 2

(NORTH DENVER METRO) Jefferson, Adams, Gilpin, Clear Creek, Boulder Counties (except St. Vrain School District) plus Platte Canyon

Adams 1 – Mapleton
Adams 12 Five Star Schools – Northglenn/Thornton
Adams 14 – Commerce City
Adams 27J – Brighton
Adams 50 – Westminster
Bennett 29J – Bennett
Boulder Valley RE2 – Boulder
Byers 32J -Byers
Clear Creek RE-1 – Idaho Springs
Jefferson County R1 – Golden
Platte Canyon 1 – Bailey
Sheridan 2 – Sheridan

CMEA District 3

(NORTH CENTRAL AND NORTHEASTERN PLAINS) Larimer County, St. Vrain Valley School District. Weld, Morgan, Logan, Sedgwick, Phillips, Washington, Yuma, and Kit Carson Counties.

Akron 1 – Akron
Arriba-Flagler C20 – Flagler
Brush RE-2J – Brush
Burlington RE-6J – Burlington
Ft. Lupton RE8 – Ft. Lupton
Ft. Morgan RE3 – Ft. Morgan
Otis R3 – Otis
Park R3 – Estes Park
Pawnee RE12 – Grover
Platte Valley RE3 – Ovid
Poudre R1 – Fort Collins
St. Vrain Valley RE1J – Longmont
Stratton R4 – Stratton
Thompson R2J – Loveland
Valley RE1 – Sterling
Weld County 4 – Windsor
Weld County 6 – Greeley
Weld County RE1 – Gilcrest, LaSalle, Platteville
Weld County RE3J – Keenesburg
Weld County RE5J – Johnstown, Milliken
Weld County RE9 – Highland Schools, Ault
Weld County RE10J – Briggsdale
Weld County RE11J – Praire
West Yuma County RJ-1 – Yuma
Wiggins RE50J – Wiggins
Wray RD2 – Wray

CMEA District 4

(SOUTHEASTERN COLORADO) Cheyenne, Kiowa, Crowley, Otero, Bent, Prowers, Baca, Las Animas, Huerfano, and Pueblo Counties.

Branson 82 – Branson
Cheraw #31 – Cheraw
Cheyenne County RE5 – Cheyenne Wells
Fowler R4J – Fowler
Hoehne RE3 – Hoehne
Kiowa County RE1 – Eads
Kit Carson R1 – Kit Carson
La Veta RE2 – La Veta
Lamar RE2 – Lamar
Limon 4J – Limon
Pueblo City 60 – Pueblo
Pueblo Rural 70 – Pueblo
Springfield RE4 – Springfield
Trinidad 1 – Trinidad
Vilas RE5 – Vilas
Wiley RE13JT – Wiley

CMEA District 5

(PIKES PEAK) Elbert, Lincoln, El Paso, Teller, and Eastern Fremont Counties.

Academy 20 – Colorado Springs
Canon City RE1 – Canon City
East Otera R1 – La Junta
Elbert County C2 – Kiowa
Elizabeth C1 – Elizabeth
Ellicott 22 – Ellicott
El Paso County 8 – Fountain
El Paso County 11 – Colorado Springs
El Paso County 12 – Cheyenne Mountain
Falcon 49 – Falcon
Harrison 2 – Colorado Springs
Lewis-Palmer 38 – Monument
Manitou Springs 14 – Manitou Springs
Widefield 3 – Colorado Springs
Woodland Park RE2 – Woodland Park

CMEA District 6

(SAN LUIS VALLEY) Costilla, Conejos, Alamosa; Rio Grande, Mineral, Saguache, western Fremont, Chaffee and Park (except Fairplay) Counties.

Alamosa RE11J – Alamosa
Buena Vista R-31 – Buena Vista
Centennial R-1 – San Luis
Center 26JT – Center
Cotopaxi RE3 – Cotopaxi
Creede Consolidated 1 – Creede
Custer County C1 – Westcliffe
Del Norte C7 – Del Norte
Moffat Consolidated 2 – Moffat, Saguache County
Monte Vista C8 – Monte Vista
Mountain Valley RE-1- Saguache
North Conejos RE-1J – La Jara
Salida R32J  – Salida
Sanford 6J – Sanford
Sangre de Cristo RE-22J – Mosca, Hooper
Sargent RE-33J – Sargent
Sierra Grande R-30 – Blanca, Fort Garland
South Conejos RE10 – Antonito

CMEA District 7

(SOUTHWESTERN) Archuleta, LaPlata, Montezume, San Juan, Hinsdale, Dolores, San Miguel, Ouray, Gunnison, Montrose, Delta, and Mesa Counties.

Archuleta County 50JT – Pagosa Springs
De Beque 49JT – De Beque
Delta County 50J – Delta
Dolores RE4A – Dolores
Hinsdale County RE1 – Lake County
Ignacio 11JT – Ignacio
Mancos RE6 – Mancos
Mesa County Valley 51 – Grand Junction
Montezuma-Cortez RE1 – Cortez
Montrose County RE1J – Montrose
Ouray R1 – Ouray
Plateau Valley School – Collbran
Ridgway R2 – Ridgway
Silverton 1 – Silverton
Telluride R1 – Telluride
West End RE2 – Naturia

CMEA District 8

(NORTHWESTERN) Moffat, Routt, Jackson, Grand, Summit, Lake, Eagle, Pitkin, Garfield, and Rio Blanco Counties plus Fairplay.

Aspen 1 – Aspen
Basalt – Roaring fork SD
Eagle RE50J – Eagle
East Grand 2 – Granby
Garfield 16 – Parachute
Garfield RE2 – Rifle and Silt
Glenwood Springs – Roaring Fork SD
Hayden RE1 – Hayden
Lake County R1 – Leadville
Meeker RE2 – Meeker
Moffat RE1 – Craig
North Park R1 – Walden
Park County RE2 – Fairplay
Rangely RE4 – Rangely
Summit RE1 – Frisco
West Grand 1JT – Kremmling